Wednesday, August 10, 2011

The Basics Part 4

Magic the Gathering is a card game, so let's talk about the cards.

There are seven main types of card. It's very important to know the differences between them because the type of card gives you many informations about that card.

The types are:

Sorcery: You can only cast sorceries in the main phase of your turn. You follow it's instructions and then it goes to the graveyard. A sorceries never gets to the battlefield, it has is effect and goes directly to the graveyard.


Instant: This are the only cards that can be played every time you want, even in the opponents turn. They can also be played in response to other cards (I gonna explain this better when I talk about the stack in another post). Besides this they act like the sorceries, you follow the instructions and then put the card in the graveyard.

Enchantment: An enchantment is a permanent, this means that when you play one of this you put it on the battlefield and it stays there until destroyed. You can only cast this when you could cast a sorcery.

There are a special type of enchantment called Aura. This is a enchantment that enters the battlefield attached to another permanent (most of the times a creature) and affects that permanent. When the permanent the aura is attached leaves the battlefield the aura is put on the graveyard.

Artifact: Artifacts are relics that come to the battlefield and stay there, so they are also permanents. Most artifacts are colorless so you can play them with mana of any color.


Then there are equipments. This are a special type of artifact that can be attached to another permanent. They enter the battlefield unattached and when the permanent they are attached dies they don't go to the graveyard like the auras, they simply stay in the battlefield unattached.


Creatures: Creatures are permanents but are the only ones that can attack and block. Each creature has power and toughness. Its power (the first number in the box on the lower right corner) is the damage that creature does to other creatures. The toughness (the second number in that box) is the damage you need to do, in a single turn, to kill that creature.
Creature are also the only cards that enter the battlefield with summoning sickness, this prevents the creature from attacking and tapping in the turn it enters the battlefield.
There are creatures that are also artifacts, this are artifact creatures and can be affected by anything that can affect creatures or artifacts.

Planeswalker: Some of you are thinking "You said that I was the planeswalker, how can I play planeswalkers??". This cards are like friends you call to help you in your fight. They enter the battlefield with a number of loyalty counters on them (the number on the lower right corner) and have abilities that can make then gain or lose counters. You can only use one ability of the same planeswalker per turn and only if they have enough counters (in case the ability removes some of them).
The planeswalker functions like a player in the way that your opponent can choose to attack it instead of you. When your planeswalker takes damage it looses that much loyalty counters, if the counters get to zero the planeswalker goes to the graveyard.
I gonna explain the planeswalker better in a future post.

Land: Lands are the only card that aren't played as spells. This means that when you play a land there is nothing your opponent can do in response to you playing the land. Also, you can only play one land per turn and only in the main phase of your turn.
I already mentioned in the post about mana that lands are used to produce mana. There are five basic lands that only produce mana from their color and do nothing more, but besides those there are lots of non-basic lands that can do other things while still producing mana.

This board resumes the proprieties of the various types of card.


  1. You could put "Equipment" in bold too.
    I know they are artifacts, but I guess it would be better this way!

    Kisses ^^


  2. Then I should have put Auras also in bold. But I think it was better this way, the main types are in bold and the sub-types aren't.